Tes Engineering Blog

Musings of the Tes Engineering Team

BlogHow we workMeet the TeamOpen rolesWork with us

January 04, 2018

Interview with Stefano Ceschi Berrini

by Denis Fernández Gridchin

Photo of Stefano Ceschi Berrini

I’m Stefano Ceschi Berrini, I’m from Padova (Italy, 30km from Venice) and I’ve been working remotely at TES since March 2017 as a node Software Engineer. I have a degree in Computer Science, obtained in 2007 at the University of Padova and since then I’ve been working with web technologies, from PHP to Java to Ruby to JavaScript. I’m married to Deborah and I have two daughters: Rebecca and Rachele. When I’m not coding and I’m not changing diapers and calming daughters’ crying I usually cook, I listen to Progressive Metal and sometimes I also play my Taylor acoustic guitar. I also love swimming, skiing and going hiking to the mountains, playing/watching soccer and watching NBA.

Prato della Valle

Cool fact: I come from a "kinda big" family as I’m the 3rd of 12 children (all natural, from same parents :D). So I have 5 brothers and 6 sisters and this is us, grandma (95yo) included:

Stefano's big family

How long have you been doing front end development? What do you love about it?

I’ve been doing development professionally since around 2004/2005, as I needed money to pay university rents/books/etc and therefore I started building websites/apps for friends, local activities and for the university of Padova. I love the fact we programmers are doing a tremendously dynamic (in terms of brain activity :D) job, and we never stop learning. Moreover I love the fact we have the opportunity to code almost everything we have in mind.

Do you have any hobbies outside work?

Yeah, as I wrote on the intro, I love doing lots of things and taking care of my daughters (and wife LOL) while I’m not coding:

Stefano's activities when he's not coding

What's a unique fact about you that other people rarely know?

Even if I tend to hide this, I’m sometimes extremely anxious/emotive and hypochondriac BUT I’m an active and proud blood donor :)

What’s your favorite ‘90s jam?

I love the ’90s as in ’92 my fav. band Dream Theater delivered the epic album Images and Words (a Progressive Metal milestone). I also love what bands like Porcupine Tree, Iron Maiden, Opeth, Rush, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Liquid Tension Experiment etc. were doing during those years and 80% of the music I’m listening to this period is from the ‘90s. Apart from the rock/metal side I also like Ennio Morricone, John Williams, Ludovico Einaudi, Alan Silvestri and in general epic music soundtracks.

What is something you have made / hacked you are most proud of?

I’m generally proud whenever I click the “approve” (to live) button to deliver something I built from scratch or that required lot of time and effort. In particular, I lately rewrote an entire application (tes’ app job search) and I was very proud of the outcome. Also, some years ago (when the instagram API was released the first time) I did an online match pairs memory game w/ instagram pictures from a hashtag for my little brother and he played it millions of times. Small thing but I was definitely very proud!

What TV series are you currently watching?

This is kinda weird, as I’m not really into TV series and I’m not watching anything right now. Usually I start something and then - mainly ‘coz of lack of time - I stop and I forget about it. But there have been some exceptions: Lost, Breaking Bad (watched it 4 times) and Stranger Things (watched 3 times).

What inspires you?

My family, the nature that surrounds us (mainly while I’m staring at the dolomites and/or it’s snowing), and good music.

What is the most interesting place you have traveled?

Mauritius island, the prefered Stefano's place in the world!

Definitely Mauritius island. Great people, awesome food and epic sea.

What is your favorite food?

I’m Italian, so maybe you would expect something like Pizza, Pasta etc. And you’re right :) I love Pizza, I love handmade Pasta, Gnocchi, Pasticcio, Tagliatelle, Ragu’, I love Prosciutto Crudo (parma/san daniele ham) … and I love mediterranean food in general (w/ lots of extra virgin olive oil on top)

What are three things still left on your bucket list?

  1. own a house
  2. buy a music man majesty guitar + some mesa boogie things
  3. do an US coast to coast with wife and daughters

What is your workspace like?


This is my workspace. And, as you see a bed w/ minnie mouse on the left, my home office is also my daughter’s bedroom as we don’t have a big house. Apart from home, I also work (± 3 days a week) from a coworking space.

What do you think is the future of web development?

I think the future of web dev is very bright. We’re seeing great changes and improvements in terms of browser APIs both for the mobile and the desktop. Moreover I think we will be able to deliver even faster and more compelling web applications also thanks to technologies that will enable us to use the same language on almost the whole stack (i.e. JavaScript w/ Node, React, React Native etc). Finally, in the future I think the exponential growth and change will slow down as we will be reaching the almost perfect way of developing complex web applications.

© Tes Engineering Team 2020| All rights reserved
Follow @tes_engineering